Mystery Books

  • Claws and Effect: A Mrs. Murphy Mystery

    CLAWS AND EFFECTWinter puts tiny Crozet, Virginia, in a deep freeze and everyone seems to be suffering from the winter bla

  • The Dead Zone (Signet)

    Beware, The Wheel of Fortune…Johnny, the small boy who skated at breakneck speed into an accident that for one ho

  • The False Inspector Dew

    The year is 1921. A passionate affair between voracious romance reader Alma Webster and her dentist, Walter Baranov, has led to hi

  • Killing Time: A Novel

    Returning to the entrancing supernatural territory of her popular novels Dream Man and Son of the Morning, New York Times bestsell

  • The Stabbing In The Stables (Fethering Mysteries)

    Fethering's favorite sleuths are at it again as Jude and Carole Seddon find themselves in the midst of some horseplay, after stumb

  • Silent Joe

    Scarred for life by a brutal father, Joe Trona found a safe haven and a loving childhood in the home of the couple who adopted him

  • Code to Zero

    In this classic Cold War thriller, #1 New York Times bestselling author Ken Follett puts his own electrifying twist on t

  • More...

Mystery Movies

  • Mystic River

    Three friends who grew up in working-class Boston drift apart after a terrible tragedy. Years later, brutal events reconnect them.

  • Flightplan (Widescreen Edition)

    Academy Award(R) winner Jodie Foster (Best Actress, THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS, 1991) gives an outstanding performance in the heart-

  • The Killing Room

    In this highly charged, psychological thrill ride, four strangers are recruited as volunteers in a scientific research study. But

  • Memento

    Point blank in the head a man shoots another. In flashbacks, each one earlier in time than what we've just seen, the two men's pas

  • Orphan

    Orphan (DVD)Peter Sarsgaard and Vera Farmiga star as a couple who adopt a 9-year-old girl after losing their ow

  • More...

Mystery Authors

The Best Mystery Books - Top 100

Anthony Award for Best Mystery Novel

This award for the Best Novel of the Year is named for Anthony Boucher, a writer, critic, and fan of the mystery genre. The Anthony is presented each year during the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention for a novel published in the previous year.

Ordinary Grace

William Kent Krueger 2014
The Beautiful Mystery

Louise Penny Chief Inspector Gamache 2013
Bury Your Dead

Louise Penny Chief Inspector Gamache 2011
A Trick of the Light: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel

Louise Penny 2011
A Brutal Telling

Louise Penny 2009
The Brass Verdict

Michael Connelly Harry Bosch series novels 2008
What the Dead Know

Laura Lippman 2008
No Good Deeds

Laura Lippman Tess Monaghan 2007
Mercy Falls

William Kent Krueger 2006
Blood Hollow

William Kent Krueger 2005
Every Secret Thing

Laura Lippman 2004
City of Bones

Michael Connelly Harry Bosch series novels 2002
Mystic River

Dennis Lehane novels 2001
A Place Of Execution

Val McDermid 2001
In a Dry Season

Peter Robinson Inspector Banks novels 1999
Blood Work

Michael Connelly novels 1998
No Colder Place

S. J. Rozan 1998
The Poet

Michael Connelly Jack McEvoy series novels 1996
Under The Beetles Collar

Mary Willis Walker 1996
She Walks These Hills

Sharyn McCrumb Spencer Arrowood, Appalachian sheriff novels 1994
Wolf In The Shadows

Marcia Muller Sharon McCone 1994
Bootleggers Daughter

Margaret Maron 1992
The Last Detective

Peter Lovesey Peter Diamond 1992
G Is for Gumshoe

Sue Grafton Kinsey Millhone novels 1990
The Sirens Sing Of Murder

Sarah Caudwell 1990
The Silence Of The Lambs

Thomas Harris 1989

Tony Hillerman Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn novel 1986
C Is for Corpse

Sue Grafton Kinsey Millhone novels 1986
B Is for Burglar

Sue Grafton Kinsey Millhone novels 1985