Mystery Books

  • Claws and Effect: A Mrs. Murphy Mystery

    CLAWS AND EFFECTWinter puts tiny Crozet, Virginia, in a deep freeze and everyone seems to be suffering from the winter bla

  • The Dead Zone (Signet)

    Beware, The Wheel of Fortune…Johnny, the small boy who skated at breakneck speed into an accident that for one ho

  • The False Inspector Dew

    The year is 1921. A passionate affair between voracious romance reader Alma Webster and her dentist, Walter Baranov, has led to hi

  • Killing Time: A Novel

    Returning to the entrancing supernatural territory of her popular novels Dream Man and Son of the Morning, New York Times bestsell

  • The Stabbing In The Stables (Fethering Mysteries)

    Fethering's favorite sleuths are at it again as Jude and Carole Seddon find themselves in the midst of some horseplay, after stumb

  • Silent Joe

    Scarred for life by a brutal father, Joe Trona found a safe haven and a loving childhood in the home of the couple who adopted him

  • Code to Zero

    In this classic Cold War thriller, #1 New York Times bestselling author Ken Follett puts his own electrifying twist on t

  • More...

Mystery Movies

  • Mystic River

    Three friends who grew up in working-class Boston drift apart after a terrible tragedy. Years later, brutal events reconnect them.

  • Flightplan (Widescreen Edition)

    Academy Award(R) winner Jodie Foster (Best Actress, THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS, 1991) gives an outstanding performance in the heart-

  • The Killing Room

    In this highly charged, psychological thrill ride, four strangers are recruited as volunteers in a scientific research study. But

  • Memento

    Point blank in the head a man shoots another. In flashbacks, each one earlier in time than what we've just seen, the two men's pas

  • Orphan

    Orphan (DVD)Peter Sarsgaard and Vera Farmiga star as a couple who adopt a 9-year-old girl after losing their ow

  • More...

Mystery Authors

The Best Mystery Books - Top 100


The Crime Writers Association of Great Britain was founded in 1953 and is open to published writers of crime fiction and non-fiction. The Macallan Daggers are sponsored by The Macallan, distillers of the single Highland malt whiskey, in association with the Crime Writers' Association. The CWA Gold Dagger is awarded for the best crime novel of the year.

This Dark Road to Mercy

Wiley Cash 2014
Dead Lions

Mick Herron 2013
The Rage

Gene Kerrigan 2012
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter

Tom Franklin 2011

Belinda Bauer 2010
A Whispered Name

William Broderick 2009
Silence of the Grave

Arnaldur Indridason 2005

Sara Paretsky Warshawski novel 2004
Fox Evil

Minette Walters 2003
The Athenian Murders

Jose Carlos Somoza 2002

Henning Menkell 2001
Motherless Brooklyn

Jonathan Lethem 2000
A Small Death In Lisbon

Robert Wilson 1999
Sunset Limited

James Lee Burke Dave Robicheaux novels 1998
Black Blue

Ian Rankin 1997

Ben Elton 1996
The Mermaids Singing

Val McDermid 1995
The Scolds Bride

Minette Walters 1994
Cruel and Unusual

Patricia Cornwell Kay Scarpetta novels 1993
The Way through the Woods

Colin Dexter novel 1992
King Solomons Carpet

Barbara Vine 1991
Bones and Silence

Reginald Hill Andy Dalziel and Peter Pascoe novel 1990
The Wench is Dead

Colin Dexter novel 1989

Michael Dibdin 1988
A Fatal Inversion

Barbara Vine 1987
Live Flesh

Ruth Rendell novels 1986
Monkey Puzzle

Paula Gosling 1985
The Twelfth Juror

B.M. Gill 1984
Accidental Crimes

John Hutton 1983
The False Inspector Dew

Peter Lovesey 1982
Gorky Park

Martin Cruz Smith 1981
The Murder Of The Maharajah

H.R.F. Keating 1980
Whip Hand

Dick Francis 1979
The Chelsea Murders

Lionel Davidson 1978
The Honourable Schoolboy

John LeCarre novel 1977
A Demon in My View

Ruth Rendell novels 1976
The Seven Percent Solution

Nicholas Meyer 1974
Other Paths to Glory

Anthony Price David Audley,a historian and spy in England novel 1974
The Defection Of Aj Lewinter

Robert Littell 1973
The Levanter

Eric Ambler novel 1971
The Steam Pig

James McClure 1971
Young Man I Think Youre Dying

Joan Fleming 1970
A Pride Of Heroes

Peter Dickinson 1969
Skin Deep

Peter Dickinson 1968
Murder Against The Grain

Emma Lathen 1967
A Long Way To Shiloh

Lionel Davidson 1966
The Far Side of the Dollar

Ross Macdonald Lew Archer novels 1965
The Perfect Murder

H.R.F. Keating 1964
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold

John LeCarre novel 1963
When I Grow Rich

Joan Fleming 1962