Mystery Books

Mystery Movies

Mystery Authors

The Best Mystery Books - Top 100


Nominees for and the winners of the Macavity Awards are selected by the members of Mystery Readers International, the largest of all mystery fan organizations. The Macavity Award is named for the "mystery cat" of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats).

Ordinary Grace

William Kent Krueger 2014
The Beautiful Mystery

Louise Penny Chief Inspector Gamache 2013
Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead

Sara Gran 2012
Bury Your Dead

Louise Penny Chief Inspector Gamache 2011

Ken Bruen 2010
Where Memories

Deborah Crombie 2009
What the Dead Know

Laura Lippman 2008
The Virgin of Small Plains

Nancy Pickard 2006
The Lincoln Lawyer

Michael Connelly Mickey Haller series novels 2005
The Killing of the Tinkers

Ken Bruen 2005
The House Sitter

Peter Lovesey Peter Diamond 2004
Winter And Night

S. J. Rozan 2003

Laurie King 2002
A Place Of Execution

Val McDermid 2001
The Flower Master

Sujata Massey 2000
Blood Work

Michael Connelly novels 1998
Dreaming Of The Bones

Deborah Crombie 1998

Peter Lovesey Peter Diamond 1997
Under The Beatles Cellar

Mary Willis Walker 1996
She Walks These Hills

Sharyn McCrumb Spencer Arrowood, Appalachian sheriff novels 1994
The Scultress

Minette Walters 1994
Bootleggers Daughter

Margaret Maron 1992

Nancy Pickard Jenny Cain 1992
If Ever I Return, Pretty Peggy-O

Sharyn McCrumb Spencer Arrowood, Appalachian sheriff novels 1990
A Little Class On Murder

Carolyn Hart 1990
A Thief of Time*

Tony Hillerman Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn novel 1988
Marriage Is Murder

Nancy Pickard Jenny Cain 1988
A Taste for Death Faber and Faber

P. D. James novel 1986