Mystery Books

Mystery Movies

  • Oldboy

    Oh Dae-su is an ordinary Seoul businessman with a wife and little daughter who, after a drunken night on the town, is abducted and

  • Cube

    Six ordinary strangers awaken from their daily lives to find themselves in a seemingly endless maze of interlocking cubical chambe

  • Exam

    Like Saw for corporate go-getters, in EXAM eight young people vying for a sought-after job are locked together in a room and given

  • Sunshine

    The story begins in the year 2057, as our Sun begins to die and mankind faces the unthinkable: extinction. Earth's last hope lies

  • Vanilla Sky

    A renowned womanizer meets his match in his best friend's girlfriend. Just as begins to develop feelings for her, his last girlfri

  • More...

Mystery Authors

The Best Mystery Books - Top 100


The Private Eye Writers of America confer the Shamus Award. Eligible novels feature a "private eye" character who is an investigator, but does not work for a government or police agency. Winners are selected by committees of writers. The award for Best Novel is listed below (best hardback Novel beginning in 2001).

1 Locked In Marcia Muller Sharon McCone 2010
2 Empty Ever After Reed Farrel Coleman 2009
3 Soul Patch Reed Farrel Coleman 2008
4 The Dramatist Ken Bruen 2007
5 The Lincoln Lawyer Michael Connelly Mickey Haller series novels 2005
6 While I Disappear Ed Wrigh 2005
7 The Guards Ken Bruen 2004
8 Blackwater Sound James W Hall 2003
9 Reflecting The Sky S. J. Rozan 2002
10 Havana Heat C. Garcia-Aguilera 2001
11 California Fire And Life Don Winslow 2000
12 Boobytrap Carroll Graf Bill Pronzini Nameless Detective novels 1998
13 Come Back Dead Terence Faherty 1998
14 Sunset Express Robert Crais Elvis Cole / Joe Pike novel 1996
15 Concourse S. J. Rozan 1996
16 K Is for Killer Sue Grafton Kinsey Millhone novels 1994
17 The Devil Knows Youre Dead Lawrence Block 1994
18 The Man Was Taller Than God Harold Adams 1993
19 Stolen Away Max Collins 1992
20 G Is for Gumshoe Sue Grafton Kinsey Millhone novels 1990
21 Extenuating Circumstances Jonathan Valin 1990
22 Kiss John Lutz 1989
23 A Tax In Blood Benjamin M. Schutz 1988
24 The Staked Goat Jeremiah Healy 1986
25 B Is for Burglar Sue Grafton Kinsey Millhone novels 1985
26 Sugartown Loren D. Estleman 1985
27 True Detective Max Allan Collins 1984
28 Eight Million ways to Die Lawrence Block Matt Scudder novels 1982
29 Hoodwink St Martins Bill Pronzini Nameless Detective novels 1981