Mystery Books

  • The Wheel of Darkness

    A luxury ocean liner on its maiden voyage across the North Atlantic, awash in wealth and decadence...An ancient Tibetan bo

  • The Enemy (Jack Reacher)

    Jack Reacher. Hero. Loner. Soldier. Soldier’s son. An elite military cop, he was one of the army’s brightest stars. But in eve

  • Dark Rivers of the Heart: A Novel

    Do you dare step through the red door?Spencer Grant had no idea what drew him to the bar with the red door. He thought he

  • Scots on the Rocks: A Bed-and-Breakfast Mystery (Bed-and-Breakfast Mysteries)

    Hoping to dispel the late-winter gloom, innkeeper Judith McMonigle Flynn flies off for a much-needed vacation to Scotland. But

  • Portent

    Around the world, unimaginable forces of violence are being unleashed by nature - earthquakes, volcanic eruptions and deadly hails

  • Riptide

    For generations, treasure hunters have searched for the key to the Water Pit, the labyrinth of shafts and tunnels that honeycombs

  • The Hook

    Critically acclaimed for his recent bestseller, "The Ax, " Westlake returns with a tale of twisted psychological suspense involvin

  • More...

Mystery Movies

  • Solaris

    Superstar George Clooney turns in a stellar performance in this "brilliant sci-fi movie" (New York Daily News) from Academy Award

  • Cube

    Six ordinary strangers awaken from their daily lives to find themselves in a seemingly endless maze of interlocking cubical chambe

  • A.I. - Artificial Intelligence (Widescreen Two-Disc Special Edition)

    It is the near future. The polar ice caps have melted as a result of global warming leaving many coastal cities underwater. Man ha

  • Memento

    Point blank in the head a man shoots another. In flashbacks, each one earlier in time than what we've just seen, the two men's pas

  • More...

Mystery Authors

The Best Mystery Books - Top 100


In the Appendix to his Detective Fiction, A Collection of Critical Essays, Robin W. Winks includes "A Personal List of Favorites." He writes that “the following list of titles is provided … as a point of entry; authors are limited to no more than three titles. The editor regards all of the books as good, although for a variety of reasons. Not all have contributed to the history of the field and not all are written with equal grace, but each has substantial merit, whether for plot, well-realized setting, characterization, detection, or even trickery. For the most part, books from the early classic period (pre-1930) are omitted.”

Sacrificial Pawn

Francis Ryck 1973
The First Deadly Sin

Lawrence Sanders 1973
Apres De Ma Blonde

Nicholas Freeling 1972
The Friends Of Eddie Coyle

George V. Higgins 1972
An Unsuitable Job for a Woman Faber and Faber

P. D. James novel 1972
The Eiger Sanction

Trevanian 1972
Finding Maubee

A.H.Z. Carr 1971
The Trial Of Lobo Icheka

David Creed 1971
The Day Of The Jackal

Frederick Forsyth 1971
Shroud for a Nightingale Faber and Faber

P. D. James novel 1971
The Steam Pig

James McClure 1971
The Stalker

Bill Pronzini 1971
Running Blind

Desmond Bagley 1970
Poetic Justice

Amanda Cross 1970
The Blessing Way

Tony Hillerman Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn novel 1970
Wobble To Death

Peter Lovesey Sergeant Cribb novels 1970
The Hot Rock

Donald Westlake 1970
Death Of A Hittite

Sylvia Angus 1969

Dick Francis 1969
The Goodbye Look

Ross Macdonald Lew Archer novels 1969
The Fire Engine That Disappeared

Sjowall & Wahloo 1969
The Brass Go-Between

Ross Thomas Philip St Ives, a professional go-between: novel 1969
The Glasssided Ants Nest

Peter Dickinson 1968
The Ascent Of D13

Andrew Garve 1968
Dance Of The Dwarfs

Geoffrey Household 1968
Gideons River

John Creasey (J. J. Marric) 1968
Repeat The Instructions

R. Vernon Beste 1967
All Men Are Lonely Now

Francis Clifford 1967
Murders Burning

S.H. Courtier 1967
Blood Sport

Dick Francis 1967
Murder Against The Grain

Emma Lathen 1967
The Third Policeman

Flann O'Brien 1967

Sjowall & Wahloo 1967
The Man Who Killed Himself

Julian Symons 1967
The Seersucker Whipsaw

Ross Thomas non-series books: 1967
In The Heat Of The Night

John Ball 1966
The Kremlin Letter

Noel Behn 1966
Tremor Of Intent

Anthony Burgess 1966
Death Shall Overcome

Emma Lathen 1966
The Cold War Swap - Spy in the Vodka

Ross Thomas Mac McCorkle, a saloon owner and Mike Padillo, a spy in Bonn, Germany novel 1966
Tree Frog

Martin Woodhouse 1966
High Citadel

Desmond Bagley 1965
The Third Side Of The Coin

Francis Clifford 1965
The Quiller Memorandum

Adam Hall 1965
Passport To Oblivion

James Leasor 1965
Midnight Plus One

Gavin Lyall 1965
The Far Side of the Dollar

Ross Macdonald Lew Archer novels 1965
Out Of The Dark

Ursula Curtiss 1964
The Q Document

Robert Duncan 1964
The Liquidator

John Garner 1964