Mystery Books

Mystery Movies

  • Phone Booth

    A single phone call can change a man's life…or possibly end it. Colin Farrell delivers a captivating, off-the-hook performance a

  • Interstellar (Blu-ray + DVD Combo Pack)

    With our time on Earth coming to an end, a team of explorers undertakes the most important mission in human history; traveling bey

  • Jacob's Ladder

    A Vietnam vet, back at home in New York City, finds himself losing his grip on reality, in a horrifying way; only his friend can h

  • Moon [Blu-ray]

    Sam Bell (Sam Rockwell) is nearing the completion of his 3-year-long contract with Lunar Industries, mining Earth's primary source

  • Donnie Darko: The Director's Cut (Two-Disc Special Edition)

    During the presidential election of 1988, a teenager named Donnie Darko sleepwalks out of his house one night, and sees a giant, d

  • More...

Mystery Authors

Book reviews - Ice

Ice


Author: Ed McBain
Shallow graves scar the desert landscape. A cemetery in the sand. Some of the lost are never found.

Thousands of girls go missing every year in Las Vegas. Taken. Bought and sold. Or worse.

And now the dead are calling.

These lost girls summon FBI Profiler Violet Darger to Sin City -- a new case. There are fresh dead to sort through -- two bodies burned beyond recognition in the trunk of a sedan -- and there’s reason to believe that there are missing girls waiting to be saved.

Rumors swirl that a legendary killer is responsible for these crimes. An escaped prisoner with a personal grudge against Darger -- one who wants her and her partner dead. One who disappeared for 20 years.

But the desert is full of deadly secrets -- horrors waiting beneath the sand.

If Darger finds the killer in time, the girls will live. If not…

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you holding your breath until the final page. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn, and Lisa Gardner should check out the Violet Darger series.

The books in the series can be read in any order, so grab The Girl in the Sand and get started today.

Praise for the Violet Darger series:


"Un-put-downable! I cannot wait for this series to grow. If you love Sandford, Slaughter, Kava, Stelljes and Deaver, you’ll LOVE Vargus & McBain!" -- Melody M

"The Violet Darger books are honestly the best detective novels I've ever read." -- Devin

"Vargus and McBain have, in Violet Darger, created a character that absolutely stands up with some of the greats -- Phillip Marlowe, Dave Robicheaux, Elvis Cole, Charlie Parker, August Dupin, Jack Reacher, Harry Bosch, etc." -- Lucinda E. Snyder

"Wow, just wow! If you like scare-you-half-to-death mystery books this is the one for you. It starts with a bang and just doesn't stop." -- Ada Lavin

"This series is full of suspense, action, and lots of murder." -- EllenAn

"Violet Darger is a unique, incredible character, and I immensely enjoyed taking this journey with her." -- Cat

"A rush of excitement, twists and turns." -- C. Munger

"Insightful, bloody. Page turner about the corruption of morality and warped thinking patterns." -- Bella from Readingnstuff.com

"Refuses to let go until you have read the last sentence." -- Bloodymummer

"I found myself completely invested in every character, from the authorities to the killer to the victims themselves." -- eden Hudson, author of Revenge of the Bloodslinger

"It's not a glimpse...it's a good long look inside the mind of a killer. It's fast paced, it's scary, and it's satisfying." -- Rain

"If you are a fan of Silence of the Lambs, this book is a spiritual successor." -- Amazon customer

"Vargus and McBain spin a fine tale with characters I want to climb inside -- but not in a weird way." -- Jeanne Tarrants

US publication: 1983
Detective: n/a
Genre: n/a