Mystery Books

Mystery Movies

  • The Killing Room

    In this highly charged, psychological thrill ride, four strangers are recruited as volunteers in a scientific research study. But

  • The Game

    There are no rules in "the game." And that will make life very difficult for Nicholas Van Orton, a successful businessman who is a

  • American Psycho (Uncut Version) (Killer Collector's Edition)

    Patrick Bateman, a young, well to do man working on wall street at his father's company kills for no reason at all, collects body

  • The Yellow Sea

    Desperate to pay off mounting debts, a young man living in China agrees to carry out an assassination in South Korea. But soon the

  • Mulholland Dr.

    This sexy thriller has been acclaimed as one of the year's best films. Two beautiful women are caught up in a lethally twisted mys

  • More...

Mystery Authors

Book reviews - Silent Joe

Silent Joe


Author: T. Jefferson Parker
0 (0 Votes)
Scarred for life by a brutal father, Joe Trona found a safe haven and a loving childhood in the home of the couple who adopted him. Now he spends his days as a deputy for the Orange County sheriff's department and his nights as a driver and aide to Will Trona, the influential politician who rescued him from the Hillside Children's Home. An expert in firearms and the martial arts, Joe has been backing Will up for a long time. Still, his skill isn't enough to keep Will alive, and when his father is killed right in front of Joe's eyes, the young deputy vows to avenge him. But first he must find out how the kidnapping of a tycoon's daughter, a scam to line the pockets of Will Trona's political enemies, the murder of two Guatemalan immigrants, the unholy activities of a charismatic minister who's a close friend of the Trona family, and the strange alliance of two rival L.A. gangs are connected to Will's death.

Every secret Joe uncovers leads deeper into his beloved father's murky past and ultimately his own. But the reader stays right with this extraordinary man as he battles his demons and ultimately vanquishes them. Author T. Jefferson Parker (The Blue Hour, Red Light, Laguna Heat) is one of the best thriller writers working today. Fans of Michael Connelly and Dennis Lehane--and Raymond Chandler, for that matter--will appreciate Parker's ability to create a complex, fascinating, and fully realized hero whose inner reality is brilliantly revealed by his actions. Will Trona is an equally intriguing invention; while ultimately he is an enigma, we remain convinced that he is worthy of his son's devotion. Silent Joe is a mindful, intelligent novel you can't put down. It should break Parker out with the really big boys of mystery fiction, the million-sellers with the marquee names. In fact, he's a much better writer than most of them, and unlike many, he never tells the same story twice. --Jane Adams

Tags:
US publication:
2002
Detective:
n/a
Genre:
n/a
Amazon Price:
$2.93
<