Mystery Books

Mystery Movies

  • Donnie Darko: The Director's Cut (Two-Disc Special Edition)

    During the presidential election of 1988, a teenager named Donnie Darko sleepwalks out of his house one night, and sees a giant, d

  • Exam

    Like Saw for corporate go-getters, in EXAM eight young people vying for a sought-after job are locked together in a room and given

  • Shutter Island

    Academy Award® winning director Martin Scorses once again teams up with Leonardo DiCaprio in this spine-chilling thriller that cr

  • The Game

    There are no rules in "the game." And that will make life very difficult for Nicholas Van Orton, a successful businessman who is a

  • A Beautiful Mind (Widescreen)(2001)

    Winner of 4 Academy Awards, including Best Picture, A Beautiful Mind is directed by Academy Award winner Ron Howard and produced b

  • More...

Mystery Authors

Book reviews - The Amateur Cracksman

The Amateur Cracksman

Author: E. W. Hornung
A. J. Raffles The Gentleman Thief Series contains 26 short stories and one full length novel as follows:

The Amateur Cracksman (8 short stories)
The Black Mask (8 Short Stories)
A Thief in the Night (10 short stories)
Mr. Justice Raffles (A Novel)

These crime and adventure stories were written by E. W. Hornung.

The story centers around A. J. Raffles, who is a cricketer and gentleman thief in late Victoria London.

The character of Raffles has been adapted into Raffles television series.

Ernest William Hornung (1866 – 1921),known professionally as E. W. Hornung, was a journalist, poet and English writer. His best known writing was the A. J. Raffles series of novels about a gentleman thief in late 19th century London.

Born on 7 June 1866 in Middlesbrough, England, he was the youngest son of John Peter Hornung. He married Constance ("Connie") Aimée Monica Doyle (1868–1924), the sister of his friend Sir Arthur Conan Doyle on 27 September 1893.

US publication: 1899
Detective: n/a
Genre: n/a