Mystery Books

Mystery Movies

  • Mystic River

    Three friends who grew up in working-class Boston drift apart after a terrible tragedy. Years later, brutal events reconnect them.

  • Interstellar (Blu-ray + DVD Combo Pack)

    With our time on Earth coming to an end, a team of explorers undertakes the most important mission in human history; traveling bey

  • Twin Peaks - Definitive Gold Boxed Edition

    The Definitive Gold Box Edition of the series that became one of television's most acclaimed events finally arrives - with all 29

  • Usual Suspects, The

    Winner of two 1995 Academy AwardsÂ(r), including Best Original Screenplay, this masterful, atmospheric film noir enraptured audie

  • Phone Booth

    A single phone call can change a man's life…or possibly end it. Colin Farrell delivers a captivating, off-the-hook performance a

  • More...

Mystery Authors

Book reviews - The Death Of The Detective

The Death Of The Detective


Author: Mark Smith
A madman is on the loose in the city. Alone and on the verge of psychic collapse, detective Arnold Magnuson follows clues in murder's wake--through the Chicago of society clubs and nightclubs and the city of small-time hoods and big-time Mafia, the slums smelling of machine oil and riverside tanneries and pristine lakeside villages--through subtle interrogations, split-second lies, and improvised stories, moving ever closer to a culprit who begins to feel alarmingly like himself.

The Death of the Detective is a quest novel in the tradition of Don Quixote, Moby-Dick, and Dead Souls. During his frenetic and blood-soaked odyssey, Mark Smith's detective moves through the city on highways, boulevards, side streets, and alleys. He tracks "the death-maker" from a mansion in Lake Forest to the underbelly of the South Side, from a glass high-rise on the Gold Coast to a run-down tavern in the northwestern suburbs, and everywhere in between. In this New York Times best seller and finalist for the 1974 National Book Award, Smith takes hold of the reader and doesn't let go until the last page of his relentless journey into the dark recesses of the American soul.


US publication: 1974
Detective: n/a
Genre: n/a